UMW Welcomes BOV Members

Gov. Terry McAuliffe named new members to the UMW Board of Visitors to succeed Tara C. Corrigall ’82, Theresa Young Crawley ’77, and Mark S. Ingrao ’81. The new members, serving four-year terms that expire June 30, 2020, are:



Sharon Bulova

Chair of the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors since 2009, Bulova helped establish the Virginia Railway Express commuter rail system and has served on the VRE operations board since its inception. Before 2009, Bulova was supervisor for Fairfax County’s Braddock District and chair of the board’s budget committee.


Edward B. Hontz



Hontz, vice president of Basic Commerce and Industries Inc., oversees the company’s Navy programs in Dahlgren, Virginia. A retired Navy captain, Hontz served in Vietnam and was commanding officer of the AEGIS Training and Readiness Center in 1995. He promoted the establishment of UMW’s Dahlgren Campus and received the 2015 Prince B. Woodard leadership award from the Fredericksburg Regional Chamber of Commerce.


Deirdre Powell White ’91



White is founder and CEO of DPW Training and Associates, which provides technical training to employees of federal government agencies. She is founder and chair of The DPW Foundation, which offers scholarships for high school seniors planning to attend college. She has served on the UMW president’s diversity community advisory board and received the Laurie A. Wideman Enterprising Woman’s Award from the Fredericksburg Regional Chamber of Commerce.

Speak Your Mind