Alumni Awards

From left, Gayle Weinberger Petro, Erik Johnston, and Ann Simpson Brackett were honored for their extraordinary efforts and achievements.

Winners of the 2018 Alumni Awards were announced during Reunion Weekend, June 1-3.

Ann Simpson Brackett ’69 earned the Distinguished Alumnus Award. After a career as an adjunct professor of statistics and research methodology at Northeastern University, and as an evaluator of national, state, and local educational programs and services for WestEd, Brackett retired in 2009. She then co-founded Women and Girls Thriving in Brookline, a collective impact program in Massachusetts that assists nearly 90 women and girls living in poverty.

Gayle Weinberger Petro ’79 received the Frances Liebenow Armstrong ’36 Service Award for her enthusiastic work on behalf of alumni and current students. She has served on the Alumni Board for 10 years, is a member of the Heritage Society, and is the representative for the Jeannine Mary Pfeifle ’79 Memorial Scholarship. Petro has served on two reunion committees and has designated part of her estate to UMW for scholarship funds.

Erik Johnston ’03 was named Outstanding Young Alumnus. Since graduation, Johnston served Virginia in key positions, including as deputy policy director of the commonwealth and now as director of the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development. At UMW, Johnston earned the Colgate Darden Award.


Speak Your Mind