UMW Names Three 2012 Scholar-Athletes

Megan DeSmit

Marina Frano

Chris Marino

University of Mary Washington’s Megan DeSmit ’12, Marina Frano ’12, and Chris Marino ’12 were named 2012 Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

DeSmit advanced to the NCAA Division III Swimming Championships in March, gaining top-25 performances in three events, after receiving multiple all-conference honors at the CAC Championships in February. She holds four conference and school records. A biology major, DeSmit has made the President’s and Dean’s lists, and gained academic all-conference and all-America honors each year. She is a member of Phi Beta Kappa, Mortar Board, Chi Beta Phi, Alpha Phi Sigma, and the National Society of Collegiate Scholars.

For the past two years, Frano has advanced to the regional and zone equestrian championships, performing as one of the program’s top riders. A member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars, Chi Beta Phi, and Phi Beta Kappa, she is on the President’s and Dean’s lists. Frano also has taken on multiple volunteer roles, including fundraising for and participating in Relay for Life. A biology major, she volunteered last summer at Tacketts Mill Veterinary Hospital.

Marino has been an integral member of UMW’s cross country and indoor and outdoor track and field teams for four years. He has been an all-conference performer in all three sports and a team captain. An English major, Marino has made the UMW and Capital Athletic Conference honor rolls each year.

This is the 22nd year UMW has presented Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards.